Anger Management

Posted: April 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

clintI seem to be dealing with a lot of anger lately. And it’s not because I’m tired or stressed or overly busy. No, it’s because of what I’ve been reading in the news lately. Last week, it was the horrific (and yet somehow little known) story of Kermit Gosnell and his systematic killing of babies over a period of approximately 30 years in west Philadelphia PA. This week, it was the senseless bombing at the Boston marathon. News stories like these can’t help but shake you out of your apathy and complacency and evoke at least some sense of righteous indignation.

Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the devil. – Ephesians 4:26

Now most of us have no problem with being angry, but the challenge Paul gives us is to “be angry and not sin”. In other words, as Christians we are called to have our anger under control. As it says here, our anger must not come out of or lead to sin. Which is to say it must not be selfish or vindictive and we can not allow it to give opportunity to or foothold for the devil to sow seeds of bitterness and resentment. And yet, we are told to “be angry”. To get upset at the injustice and evil that exists in this fallen world and to take a stand for what is right and good.

There is a great need in the contemporary world for more Christian anger.  We human beings compromise with sin in a way in which God never does.  In the face of blatant evil we should be indignant not tolerant, angry, not apathetic.  If God hates sin, His people should hate sin too.  If evil arouses His anger, it should arouse ours too.  What other reaction can wickedness be expected to provoke in those who love God?” – John Stott

The LORD judges the peoples; judge me, O LORD, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me. Oh, let the evil of the wicked come to an end, and may you establish the righteous—you who test the minds and hearts, O righteous God! My shield is with God, who saves the upright in heart. God is a righteous judge, and a God who feels indignation every day.” – Psalm 7:8-11 (ESV)

Comments
  1. comet says:

    soooo have been feeling the same way..can’t get it thru my head why people are this way and then remind myself that none of us are free from sin..but that brings to the point of what you are saying about allowing us to be angry but not sin. on my part easier said that done. when you think of little babies and 8 year olds being torn and blown apart my heart breaks and i just want to lash out. BUT then His word comes blaring at me with “be still and know that I am God” …breathe and know that deep down in my heart God is in full control of His plan and who am I to want to take matters into my own hands. maybe instead I should be taking His word in my hands!!!

Leave a Reply

